## About the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

Named after a prominent judge of the International Court of Justice, the Jessup Moot is the most prestigious mooting competition in the world. Each year more than 500 teams from over 80 countries participate with a view to compete in the final stages in Washington D.C.

Each competing team first participates in Regional Rounds in its own country, the winner of which will advance to the White & Case International Rounds in Washington DC. In Hong Kong, only one team can participate in the international rounds, and the CUHK Jessup team has represented Hong Kong in Washington DC for the past two years in a row.

At the regional rounds, teams from CUHK, HKU and City U submit their written arguments in January. In March, the regional round is held in a traditional courtroom in the High Court building in Admiralty. The three teams argue against each other separately to determine the regional champion. The judges score both the written and oral arguments for a combined total score. The top scoring team advances to the White & Case International rounds.

The Hong Kong regional round is argued in front of a panel of three judges. This year, a number of notable persons judged the regional rounds, including Russell Coleman (Chairman, Bar Association of Hong Kong) and Hectar Pun (a prominent barrister); scholars such as Erika Evasdottir, Hi Taek Shin, Li Wanqiang, and Dong Shizhong; and international business practitioners such as Bea Verschraegen. The CUHK team won two prestigious awards in the regional rounds: Roger Phang (LLB 4) was selected as the Best Oralist and CUHK won the Best Memorial Award for the Respondent Team.

A total of 127 regional teams won through to the International Rounds in Washington this year. The top 50 teams advanced to the preliminary round for a run-off. Only the top 24 teams receive ranking in the International rounds. Having argued and won against teams from Russia, Kenya and Turkey, the CUHK Jessup team was finally ranked 19<sup>th</sup> in the world.

## About the Hardy C. Dillard Award for Best Memorial

The Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition is composed of two main parts: the oral submissions and the written arguments. Teams divide their members into two sides and prepare for both oral and written arguments to support their country's positions.

The *Hardy C. Dillard Award* is awarded to the team with the highest combined score for the memorials submitted by the winning teams of both the regional and international rounds, regardless of whether the team has advanced to the international rounds.

The *Hardy C. Dillard Award* was awarded to CUHK's Jessup team, with The National University of Singapore in second place, followed by a five-way tie between other law schools. Teams in the Jessup Moot included: Australian National University, University of Toronto, University of Tokyo, University College London, Harvard University, UCLA, New York University, Columbia Law School, and University of Oxford.